Governing Board

Governing Board


IUSSTF functions as an autonomous, not-for-profit society in India, co-funded and co-governed by both the Governments of India and the United States of America and is managed by the Executive Director from its headquarters in New Delhi. To ensure that the activities undertaken by the Forum conform to the highest standards of excellence, a joint Governing Body, consisting of seven Indian and seven American researchers and government representatives, provides leadership to the Forum.

Indian Members

Indian Co-Chair, Secretary, Department of Science and Technology
Dr. Srivari Chandrasekhar
Mission Director at Atal Innovation Mission (AIM), NITI Aayog, Govt. of India
Dr. Chintan Vaishnav
Additional Secretary and Financial Adviser, Department of Science & Technology, Government of India
Mr. Vishvajit Sahay
Adviser, Department of Biotechnology, Goverment of India
Dr. Alka Sharma
Secretary, Science and Engineering Research Board (SERB)
Dr. Sandeep Verma
Director, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) – Bombay
Prof. Subhasis Chaudhuri
President, NASSCOM
Ms. Debjani Ghosh

U.S. Members

U.S. Co-Chair, Director Office of Science and Technology Cooperation U.S. Department of State
Mr. Reece Smyth
Deputy Assistant Secretary Asia and the Americas , Office of International Affairs, U.S Department of Energy
Ms. Elizabeth Urbanas
Senior Adviser, Physics Division & Mathematical Sciences, Directorate National Science Foundation
Dr. Mark Coles
Associate Director, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID), National Institutes of Health
Mr. F. Gray Handley
Vice President, Director of NSG Fab Manufacturing and Automation Systems, Intel Corporation
Ms. Kumud Srinivasan
Chair, Chemical Biology and Therapeutics, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital,
Founder of WINStep Forward
Dr. Aseem Ansari
Deputy Director, Johns Hopkins University
Dr. Amita Gupta